Geogebra spreadsheets

Last spring I did a short presentation to some teachers on GeoGebra, one of my favorite math technology tools.  I am still learning the software myself, and am no expert, so it was no surprise when someone asked me a question I could not answer: What is the spreadsheet for?

Spreadsheet stuff, obviously.  But how to use it?  I had no idea.  It has taken me months to finally find the time to sit down and figure it out.  The first step I took was to do a search for tutorials on the internet.  I didn’t find one on GeoGebra’s website, but I did find this: GeoGebra Tutorial 19 – Basic Spreadsheet Recording by Guillermo Bautista of Mathematics and Multimedia.  Guillermo appears to be as enamored with GeoGebra as I am, only he a) knows what he’s doing, and b) writes about it in a series of easy-to-follow posts.

Yay!

Today I tackled the first of five posts on using spreadsheets – I used a tool that allowed me to record data generated by moving a slider along a function to a spreadsheet, and then do some basic manipulations of that data.  In other words, I made a graph, then was able to dynamically generate a table of values tied to it.  It took about two minutes.  Look:

I am so excited about this… I’ll be working through the rest of the spreadsheet tutorials and (most likely) several others over the next few weeks.  If you have time, I highly recommend checking out both GeoGebra (it’s free!) and the Mathematics and Multimedia blog.

2 Comments

  1. October 18, 2010 at 5:02 pm

    Thank you very much for promoting my blog. Yes, GeoGebra is amazing.

    Guillermo

  2. April 1, 2011 at 2:46 pm

    Hi Sarah. I have created a new GeoGebra blog:

    http://geogebracentral.blogspot.com

    You may want to collaborate with me by posting your GeoGebra applets. It will be credited to you of course.


Leave a Reply

